Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

One of the very first breakfast meals I ever made for myself after I converted to Paleo lifestyle was egg bites..aka egg muffins.

photo (25)

 

I bet if you did a survey of those who follow a Paleo lifestyle, you’d find out the “go to” standard breakfast is bacon and eggs. Nothing wrong with that, but with ALL those wonderful recipes and flavors out there, and life ripping by at warp speed why just settle for the same old same old. My life is routine enough to not allow my diet to follow the same boring pattern.

Enter egg bites..not only can you radically alter the flavor by your choice of ingredients, they are PORTABLE and much easier to eat on the go than a plate of bacon and eggs. Yikes, did I just  confess to eating breakfast in my car?  Excited to report that I’m buying a NEW car next month and one rule will be NO FOOD.  I tend to turn my vehicles into extensions of my home. Kinda like a house on wheels..my own version of a mobile home I guess. My kids often refer to my car as the craft mobile when I have it loaded up with yarn or quilting projects. Rule 2 for the new car…no crafts..that will be tougher than not eating in the car for me.

OK-back to the merits of egg bites.. they are an easy way to add more veggies into breakfast meal and you can use up leftovers too.  For example if you had grilled chicken or even taco leftovers you can add those to your egg bites.

 

So what do you need for egg bites..well a muffin tin for one, some coconut oil to grease the muffin tin, eggs AND the rest is wide open to anything Paleo or Whole30 legal.

photo (24)

photo (29)

I tend to choose flavor categories such as Italian egg bites, southwestern egg bites, pizza egg bites, seafood egg bites…you get the idea. I then match spices and ingredients to go with my flavor. The ones shared here are veggie flavor because I always seem to have the primary ingredients  on hand.

INGREDIENTS:

6 Eggs-organic free range, anti-biotic free

1/2 can black olives-sliced

Broccoli-chopped

Zucchini-grated, no need to peel

Sweet potato-peeled and shredded

Orange bell pepper-diced

Green onion-diced

Coconut oil-melted

DIRECTIONS:

Pre-heat oven to 350F

Grease the muffin tins well with melted coconut oil..if you have that spray cooking oil..THROW IT OUT NOW, it’s  plastic in a can

Beat eggs with whisk.

photo (26)

Add chopped veggies, and spices to eggs and stir well to mix. If you want to add meat or seafood in, now’s the time.  Carefully, spoon mixture into greased muffin tin.

Bake at 350 for 25-35 min.  They are done when you insert a knife and it comes out clean. Try not to overcook as they may get a little rubbery. You can reduce cooking time if you sautee veggies first.

Serve with fresh fruit-I like a side of juicy fresh pomegranate.

photo (28)photo (27)

