Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hawaiian Pineapple Skillet Kabobs

HAWAIIAN PINEAPPLE CHICKEN SKILLET KABOBS

Yesterday when I got to work the temperature in my lab was 99F. In my office it was 88F.  Despite the snow and 30 degree temperatures outside, I was lulled into a tropical mood. In reality I was probably heat-stroked into believing I was in the tropics.

Anyone who knows me well knows that I don’t function at temperatures above 70. As a child my Dad sometimes called me Nunuq which is Inuit for polar bear because I preferred the great outdoors and could rarely be coaxed indoors to play indoors even during harsh Minnesota winters. I was the kid who loved diving into snowbanks, accompanied by my faithful but not overly intelligent dog, Penny.  Penny was a German Shorthair Pointer that my Dad hoped to groom into a fine hunting dog as she matured. Neither happened. Somehow Penny never lived up to the potential of her genetic bloodlines as promised by the breeder.  Sadly, she was bred to retrieve the neighborhood kids’ mittens, shoes, and much to my Mother’s horror an entire clothesline of the neighbors clean laundry. Because Penny was notorious for ripping mittens off kids’ hands during play,  I frequently arrived home  looking like one of the five little kittens missing at least one of my mittens. My mom, who had no tolerance for ill behaved dogs or missing mittens devised what she termed the “idiot string” to keep my mittens from being yanked off by Penny. The idiot string was a long string, made with yarn that matched my mittens, of course. The left handed mitten was securely attached to one end and the right to the other. Before sending me outdoors to play, my mom would carefully thread one mittened end of the idiot string through the arms of my jacket and out the opposite arm hole. I always felt like a living scarecrow of sorts as my limbs were stuffed into my jacket and my mittens came alive on my hands. Sadly though Mom was no match for Penny who quickly converted the game of mitten snatch into mitten tug of war. The problem was that the alternate mitten was being tugged by the idiot string and that would cause my arm to jerk around like the limbs of a puppet. Like it or not, Penny WAS my best playmate.

With Minnesota tucked deeply into my childhood memories, 8 hours of 90F heat and  pineapple on sale for .99 each, I embraced the tropics to create this Whole30 friendly meal. I’m calling it Hawaiian skillet kabobs because it has the flavor of kabobs made in a cast iron skillet. I love the taste of kabobs with the sweet and sour flavors melding together and this is a quick recipe that mimics that flavor. Great for nights when you are running short on time as this one only takes 20 min from stove to table. Please enjoy and share my recipes and blog.

SERVES 4

PREP TIME:20 min

INGREDIENTS:

1 whole fresh pineapple, with hull removed and core cut into chunks

2 fresh red bell peppers, chopped into bite size pieces

1 onion, peeled and chopped into large pieces

1 lb fresh ground organic chicken breast meat

spices to include sea salt, pepper, garlic grind and kickin chicken  spice medley

DIRECTIONS:

Brown ground chicken in skillet until almost fully cooked

Immediately add pineapple chunks, red pepper and onion as well as 2 T of ghee, coconut oil or butter

cook over medium heat until pineapple is soft but not mushy.

