Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

whole30 coconut chicken stew

COCONUT CHICKEN SOUP

Gosh, where did the time go?? After mid November I feel like I was abducted for alien research. Not sure what their studies concluded because I don’t see the scientific merit of knowing such mundane things as how many pillows one sleep deprived person can make between 0100 and 0530, the number of jars of jam one human can crank out in one week, if a person can make a quilt in less than 24 hours, the number of Colorado beanies a person can make in one month, how many trips to Houston a grandmother will make in one month, how many respiratory infections one person can fight off in 45 days, and how successful will a person be with less than four hours to complete their Christmas shopping..but their data has been collected, and I’ve been returned to my formal “normal”.

On a more serious note, I fell off the workout wagon and it’s time to ramp back up with clean eating and CrossFit. I need to train myself to make my dedication to the goals I’ve set for a healthy fit 2015 my FIRST and foremost priority.. and there it is in writing.

So when Eric, my son, and his girlfriend Krystle invited me to participate with them on a Whole30 challenge starting on 2 Jan, 2015 I accepted. I honestly can’t understand why my previous attempts to do Whole30 failed..after all it’s not radically different than the strict Paleo lifestyle I followed completely thru two Lurong Challenges and a nine month introductory lifestyle change. All I know is that THIS time I will succeed in finishing.

One element that I know I neglected somewhat before was variation in my diet. That said I’ve set my goal to create at least one wonderful new Whole30 recipe per day. And a second key to success involves planning. Luckily,  Krystle has developed a great menu for them which I always have the option to follow as well. One of the interesting things I’ve noted since posting pics of the foods I’ve created is that even my non-Paleo, non-CrossFit friends have asked for the recipe. I’m always encouraged by their comments and I truly hope that as I share what I am learning that I will help someone else to improve his or her health.

I was lucky enough to be introduced to this recipe by my girlfriend Heather after we spent the day at her home working on our UFO’s (unfinished objects..you know..those projects you stuff in a bag or a bin and hope to finish one day). She was kind enough to alter a few ingredients to make it Whole30 friendly for me too! To me recipes are simply guidelines and I honestly never 100% completely follow a recipe, other than when baking. Feel free to add your own creative culinary flair to this recipe and share your results with us. I think it would be equally fabulous with either shrimp or curry powder added.

INGREDIENTS:

1 box organic chicken broth

1-2 can(s) organic diced tomatoes

1 can organic tomato sauce

1 can coconut milk or cream

3/4 c almond butter

3 chicken breasts, cubed into bite size pieces (can pre-cook to save time)

1 clove garlic minced

1  white onion peeled and diced

2 white or yellow sweet potatoes peeled and cubed

3 stalks celery diced

1 pkg fresh organic baby spinach with stems removed

5 small diced bell peppers ( I bought pkg of small peppers in various colors)

1 fresh diced jalapeño

SPICES: sea salt, paprika, kickin chicken spice, paprika, cajun spice..feel free to add curry powder if you want a curry flavor.

Place all ingredients EXCEPT fresh spinach into a large stock pot and cook until sweet potato is tender but not mushy.

right before serving, add fresh spinach and cook 1-2 minutes before serving

