Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

spicy chicken soup

Yesterday my immune system failed me and I succumbed to the onslaught of germs shared by the twins who have had a cold all week. It’s a running joke in our house when someone complains of anything from a headache to the flu, that I immediately suggest that they drink more water.  On occasion, however, I will suggest good old fashioned tried and true mom remedy of chicken soup as a cure. So when I woke up feeling quite miserable, I decided to cook up some hot soothing chicken soup, and add enough spices to conquer my cold. I’m a firm believer in the healing powers of capsaicin when it comes to kicking a cold. If nothing else, capsaicin triggers release of fluids throughout your respiratory system. Peppers themselves are a great source of vitamin C, particularly red bell peppers.  And there is just something magic about hot chicken soup to soothe your throat.

For this soup, I used chicken leftovers from dinner, but this recipe would also be fabulous with leftover turkey from your Thanksgiving dinner.  In fact, if you have leftover celery sticks, carrots or other fresh veggies from your holiday relish tray, I’d suggest adding those in as well.

The pot of soup I made disappeared in one day, but I’m sure this would freeze well if you make a larger batch.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY to my Dad, Ed Kryzanowski who always loved soup, and to my precious grandtwins Kamden and Kinsley who share their birthday with each other and their great-grandfather. Love you with all my heart and soul.

SPICY TURKEY (or CHICKEN) SOUP

serves 4

INGREDIENTS:

1-2 cups leftover cooked turkey or chicken meat-cut into cube size pieces or shredded

1 green bell pepper-diced

1 orange bell pepper-diced

3 stalks celery-diced

½ c red onion-peeled and diced

3 green onions-diced

2-4 cups organic chicken broth

2 T ghee or butter

SPICES:

1-2 T ground cumin

1 t paprika

1 t sea salt

1-2 T Mexican or hot pepper seasoning mix

DIRECTIONS:

Melt butter in a skillet on medium heat. Add in diced veggies, turkey or chicken, broth and spices

Cook until veggies are soft, reduce heat and cook until desired soup temp is reached.  Serve hot.

*Great recipe for using up leftover turkey or chicken.  And SUPER fast to make with total prep time of about 20 min.

