Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

chicken veggie burgers

..but I just don’t have time

This seems to be a particularly busy week for me.  And I’d bore you with the details but then anyone who truly knows me would probably say “sounds like one of your typical weeks, how is this one any different?”  Those of us who are labeled as “hyper” generally just have to accept that the rest of the world is just too slow.  In my perfect world, all interstates and grocery stores would have a special lane, similar to the HOV lane, marked ADHD and those who choose a slower life pace could proceed in their own designated lanes and I could move quickly and happily along in mine.  I never realized the level of my impatience with driving in traffic until my daughter, barely three, piped up from her car seat to say “C’mon people, you may not have anywhere to go, but WE do, right momma.”  Although, operating with my hair on fire may mean I don’t have a realistic concept of what constitutes a normal pace, I’ve chosen to embrace it as my norm.  I fully own it as my personality and I will continue to claim I work well under pressure, knowing in all honesty I have never tried the alternative.  As busy as I allow myself to be, I do take time to prepare healthy meals since my commitment to the Paleo lifestyle.

The meal I’ve chosen for today’s blog is an easy prep favorite for those busier nights (please tell me you have them SOMETIMES) This is a family friendly meal and if you don’t mention it’s 100% Paleo, nobody will be the wiser.

CHICKEN VEGGIE BURGERS

Recipe makes 4 large burgers
INGREDIENTS

1 pound lean ground chicken, organic if possible

1 red bell pepper-dice

2 stalks celery-cut off tops & dice

¼ red onion-dice

1 egg-raw

½ c almond meal

¼ c coconut flour

1 fresh avocado-slices

1 tomato-sliced

Fresh spinach or lettuce

Ground pepper

Sea salt

Spices of your choice

Add flours to ground chicken and stir well. Add prepared veggies, raw egg and spices. Stir well and form into patties. Can be grilled, broiled or sauteed in butter until fully cooked. Serve on a bed of lettuce or spinach with sliced tomato, avocado, dill pickle slice and hot spice mustard like Annie’s Organic with horseradish, . Great with oven baked Sweet Potato fries as a side.

SWEET POTATO OVEN FRIES

2-3 sweet potato-peeled and sliced into thick fries

¼ c olive oil

Sea salt

Fresh ground pepper

Spices of your choice

Preheat oven to 450

Pour olive oil into a flat container with a lid. Add fries to the container, close the lid and shake until all pieces are fully coated with oil. Spread on cookie sheet and add spices of your choice.

Cook until tender, and then in last 2-5 min, broil until they get a little crispy.

